The Regional Synod of the Heartland is led by an Administrative Team composed of one person from each of our seven classes.

Rev. Tim Breen, East Sioux Classis, Synod President
Rev. Clyde Teel, Dakota Classis, Synod Vice-President
Rev. Josh Van Leeuwen, Central Iowa Classis
Rev. Randy Blumer, Central Plains Classis
Rev. Lori Walber, Minnesota Classis
Elder Joel Sult, Pleasant Prairie Classis
Rev. Rob Horstman, West Sioux Classis


Our regional synod Ministry Coordinator is the Rev. Dr. Tom Smith. Tom came to the Synod of the Heartland after thirty-five years of pastoral ministry in the RCA, and now serves as a leader, encourager and team-builder for our congregations and staff. Each month Tom sends out an informational email you can read some recent editions here. If you would like to receive these emails, please use the contact in the top menu.


Alicia Beaver is our synod Clerk and Treasurer. All the crucial details of record-keeping and the finances and functioning of the Synod of the Heartland are organized by Alicia. In most cases, she can quickly answer your questions through a phone call or email.